Blog

Finding Audrey By Sophie Kinsella – Review

audry

Finding Audrey By Sophie Kinsella

Pages: 286

As a Sophie Kinsella fan, I was rather surprised to walk into my local Tesco and find a new book by her in the young adult section. However, as I said, I’m a fan so I decided to give it a go and I’m glad I did.

Finding Audry focuses on… yes, you guessed it… Audrey.

Audrey is a teenager who suffers from panic attacks and is practically housebound, due to severe bullying at school. This book is the story of how she overcomes her fears, handles her dysfunctional family and learns to like herself again. (Hence the finding bit.)

In true Kinsella fashion, the characters in this are all a little crazy, which I love. Her mother takes things to extreme, her father has the anything for a quiet life philosophy and her brother, Frank… well, let’s just say his character is great. He’s the type of brother every girl wants. He’s sarcastic, nosey, and knows exactly how everyone else thinks… he’s also there for Audrey no matter what.

It’s through her brother that she meets Linus.

Linus accepts her the way she is and slowly encourages her to rejoin the world. Even when her mother stops Frank from playing online games with Linus he is still there, helping her to challenge herself.

I think Miss Kinsella focuses on the lighter side of mental illness with this book although obviously, it’s not all sunshine and roses, but I’m glad it’s not total doom and gloom too. If the book wasn’t humorous I’d be very disappointed.

It’s just a lighthearted look at young love and friendship. Despite being aimed at young adults, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think my only gripe is that Miss Kinsella never explains what actually happened to Audrey to make her the way she is. I suppose it wasn’t really needed, but I think I’d have preferred to have that bit back story. Still, it was an enjoyable read, definitely worth picking up.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Finding-Audrey-Sophie-Kinsella/dp/0552573663/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1472489894&sr=8-1&keywords=finding+audrey … just in case you feel the need to buy it!

Finding Audrey: Amazon

Save

Leave a Reply

