Blog

Parents Beware!

Children are getting very sneaky. The older they get, the sneakier they become and I feel it’s my duty to warn you so you don’t fall into the same trap I did.

This post is about my fifteen-year-old. She is normally a great help to me. As I ‘ve mentioned in the past, I have a very bad back and my children assist me a lot more than I care to admit. However, not long ago she did something that I was not impressed with one bit.

It was a normal morning. I was crouched by the laundry basket sorting some washing.

My back was playing up this day so after filling my wash bag, I shouted my daughter to help me stand and take the bag downstairs. When she approached I handed her the bag like I normally do and that’s when she shocked me.

Her mouth fell open as she gazed into the bag, a look of wonder on her face. I started to ask what was wrong, and that’s when she said it…

A huge smile curled her lips and she practically bounced with glee. “Master gave Dobby clothes,” she said.

I frowned in confusion. “What?”

“Master gave Dobby clothes. Dobby is a free elf.”dobby-sock

My eyes narrowed and I swiftly realised where this was going. “Master told you to take the clothes downstairs.”

She shook her head firmly. “Too late, you can’t take it back.” She then proceeded to skip down the hallway shouting “Dobby is a free elf.”

To which I shouted, “Dobby will never be a free elf,” as I struggled to stand.

This now comes back to bite me in the arse frequently when I ask my child to do chores, so I’m warning all parents. If your child has seen Harry Potter don’t give them clothes. Let them walk around in bin liners if you must, or you may find yourself with a free elf skipping down your hallway.

 

22 thoughts on “Parents Beware!

      1. Hi to you, I’m in Melbourne, its 10 in the morning here. Just about ready for another cuppa. I’d say ‘join me’ but you’re probably ready for bed (or asleep by now!)

        Like

  1. LOL! Your daughter definitely sounds awesome to me. You’re raising her so wonderfully πŸ˜€ Maybe I’m biased because she did the same thing I would do if I were in her position. Us Harry Potter fans, we can be sneaky haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

