Blog

Books – Covering It!

book-759873_1280
http://www.pixabay.com

Today I ordered my book cover.

After a great deal of umming and ahhing as I filtered through the various companies online, I finally made a decision, and boy was it hard.

There are literally hundreds and thousands of companies out there, all promising to make you a top-notch cover. One that will catch the eye and boost your sales, but let’s be honest how many of them really provide what they offer?

Probably not that many. It’s a sad fact that there are so many books out there it’s really hard to get an original cover. Is mine going to be original? Probably not. But I have very specific ideas about how I want it to look and I’ve made a point of telling them to the company I’m using.

colored-pencils-374771_1280
http://www.pixabay.com

So, how did I pick my cover designer?

Well, it’s actually being done through the company that will publish my book but that’s not the main reason I picked them.

I originally looked at premade book covers. There are many sites online that sell these, and there are some very good ones out there. Already made and starting from around £40, you just add your title and there you go. A one of a kind book cover that will never be sold again and it’s all yours. There was only one problem with using this service. My book is the first in a series of seven. I need to be able to make sure the covers are matching for the set, so this was not a very suitable option for me.

This left me needing a custom made one. If you look it’s surprisingly easy to find graphic designers who will make you a book cover from about £30 and some do very good work. This was a definite option but most of the cheaper services only offered one revision. Still, you get what you pay for. With other designers charging in the hundreds I had to be realistic about what I can afford.

And then there was the publishing company I’m using. Purchasing part of my package early I’m able to get my cover custom made, to my specifications, complete with front and back, ready for print and with the option of three revisions.

I have thoroughly checked out their previous work and like what I see, so I’ve emailed my ideas and now I wait.

I don’t mind admitting I’m practically bouncing around with excitement. It finally feels like my book is coming to life and I can’t wait to share it with you all.

What’s my advice on cover designers?

Research, plain and simple.

I started out thinking my cover would cost a fortune but there are actually a lot of options out there. Check out Fiverr, they have quite a few cover designers who charge reasonable rates. Also, a lot advertise on Twitter and blogs. But when you find one, don’t jump in feet first. look at their testimonials and check out amazon for any covers they designed. Do your research and don’t forget, it’s your book. Make sure it’s done your way.

Until next time,

Gem.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Books – Covering It!

Leave a Reply

