Blog

How To: Find An Editor.

Hello, all and welcome to How To Wednesday.

Perhaps this post should actually be called, How To Pick An Editor because finding one is quite easy. All you have to do is Google editors and you will find thousands upon thousands of results. So let me rephrase the title.

How To Find An Editor Within Your Price Range.

It’s a well-known fact that most authors are not rich. In fact, most who are just starting out like me are dirt poor. As I said, it’s easy to find editors but they can be expressive. Very VERY expensive. With their fees heading towards a thousand for some, it’s really easy to push the idea aside and decide you don’t need one.

If you have that confidence, great. I personally do not feel I am capable of publishing without a professional eye looking over my work so this left me with a bit of a problem. Being a lowly shop assistant, I can’t afford the prices most editors ask. My novel is 75k so the average price to have it edited is £650. Where did this leave me?

arrow-1538712_1280
http://www.pixabay.com

I had to shop around, So where did I start?

Like every other author probably did, I started with Google. I had the opinion that if I trolled through the results I would be bound to find someone within my price range. It’s highly likely I could have been right if I tried for long enough but it didn’t take long for me to lose patience. Which led me to my next course or action.

Social Media.

The first one I looked at was Facebook.

There are any number of facebook pages for authors but surprisingly not that many come up when you search editors. I could only assume they were part of the author groups so I went to all of the groups I’m in and asked for editors.

If you do this you will get any number of authors telling you to Google but for some reason, none of them ever disclose where they got their editor from.

I was approached by a few freelance editors but only one that I could afford. I did not use this person’s services and will return to why in a bit.

On the whole, my first social media outlet was a dud. So I moved onto my second Twitter.

A simple tweet which includes #editor will get you lots of messages. I received roughly twenty personal messages within twenty-four hours offering editing services. Some of them were just as expensive as my Google searches but I did find these people were much more willing to negotiate on price.

While debating some of my options from twitter, I actually found an editor somewhere else, Goodreads

success-620300_1280
http://www.pixabay.com

A freelance editor approached me when I posted a message looking for more beta readers. She offered to edit my first chapter for free so I could see how she would help me. I took her up on the offer and am very glad I did. I found her work to be great, her prices to be reasonable and she has payment plans which are great if you’re on a budget.

When looking into Goodreads further I discovered they even have a message board where editors can advertise their services. I highly advise looking on Goodreads before you decide to trudge through Google.

Final Advice

So, if you want an editor my suggestions for where to start looking are social media sites. Alright, maybe not facebook but definitely Twitter or Goodreads. I know you might not find someone who suits you there but we all have to start somewhere.

A word of warning, If you do find someone, check them out before handing over any money.

You remember the one I could afford on facebook? I’m sure she was a lovely lady and for all, I know an excellent editor, but she had no qualifications what so ever. Before I hand over my hard-earned money, I want to know the person I’m paying knows more than I do!

If you find someone, check out their work. Here are a few bullet points to think of before giving someone your business.

  • Do they have a website/ Is it professional?
  • Do they have testimonials?
  • Can you view some work they have edited in the past?
  • Will they do a free sample so you can find out their capabilities?

And finally , the most important in my mind.

  • What are their qualifications?

If you are in any doubt what so ever about their services, don’t use them. Whether they are charging £50 or £500 It’s your money and you don’t want to part with it unless you know they can do the job you are paying for.

Until next time.

Gem x

8 thoughts on “How To: Find An Editor.

  1. Keep an open mind, even if someone doesn’t have a flash website or tons of references they might still be just what you need and everyone has to start somewhere and they could work even harder for you because they have a career to build.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

