Blog

How To: Write A Review Of Something You Don’t Like

Hello and welcome to How To Wednesday.

Plenty of us have been there. You offer to read something in exchange for a review, and you hate it. It’s an awful moment that leaves you in a very awkward predicament.

What should you do?

question-mark-1019922_1920
http://www.pixabay.com

 

Many people at this point would just, not write the review. Personally, I can’t do that. I made a commitment to this person and I intend to follow it through. However, I also can not leave a cutting review. At the end of the day, this is someone’s work. they have spent countless hours slaving over it and just because I don’t like it, doesn’t mean others won’t. They don’t deserve to have me rip it to shreds just because it’s not my cup if tea. So, I now have to write a positive review about something I don’t like.

This is how I do it. I’m not saying this is the right way, just that this way works for me.

Step One:

Name the title and author, If you have read any of this author’s previous works, that you did like, mention them.

Step Two:

Outline the plot.

No matter what your personal opinion is, this is a review so you might as well describe what you’re reviewing. Just give a basic run down of the story.

For example, X meets Y at the train station. X loses her bag, Y helps her find it. Y invites her out for a drink.

Obviously, that would be a very boring story, but you get the idea.  Let people know what they are about to read.

Step Three:

Finish with something positive.

Even if you hate the story there must be something good you can say. Maybe the author is good at description, enabling you to picture places easily. Perhaps The main characters have good personalities. Do They have an interesting sense of humour? does the author display a good use of vocabulary?

It can be anything, but say something positive!

meditation-1087847_1920
http://www.pixabay.com

Step Four:

Be truthful with your star rating.

I always try to be honest with my star rating. (Though, I never go below a two.)

And there you have it. A review about something you don’t like. Granted, it won’t be the best review you can give but it’s better than not writing anything or being mean. You are fulfilling your commitment without hurting feelings. In my book, that’s a win-win.

I hope someone finds this useful. As always, any How To suggestions can be left in the comments.

Until next time,

Gem

 

 

2 thoughts on “How To: Write A Review Of Something You Don’t Like

Leave a Reply

