Blog

How To: Be A Good Parent

hands-918774_1920
http://www.pixabay.com

Hello, and welcome to How To Wednesday

This is a really easy post to write.  How to be a good parent. Simple; change your name to Good and have a child.

Okay, I’m kidding.

This is really a hard post to write. No one knows the right way to be a parent. Kids are so unpredictable it’s impossible to know what will happen next where they are concerned. However, every so often they do or say something that makes you think that you’re doing okay at this parenting thing.

I had one of these moments the other day. My daughter told me, I am her hero. I have no idea why I’m her hero but I can only conclude that I have done something right somewhere. So I started thinking about what I did right and I’m putting these “Right” things together for my how to, so here goes;

Don’t take life too seriously. Seriously!

If you fret and worry about every little thing you will miss so many good moments. Like the makeover, your daughter wants to give you or the football game your son wants to play with you. The water balloon fight in summer, the snowball fight in winter. I wholeheartedly admit I’m a big kid. Always have been and hope I always will be. This has enabled me to have so much fun with my children.

Listen to them.

We’re all guilty of it. We get so caught up in our life and work. Every little job we have to do gets on top of us and we forget to listen. The thing is before long these kids will grow up and when they do they will have their own lives and they learn from example. If you want them to listen and pay attention to you when they’re older, you need to listen and pay attention to them now.

Let Them Be Themselves.

We all have dreams for our children. We want them to do well in school, go to college, get a good job. But our kids don’t always want the same thing as us. If your child wants to drop out of college to become an unknown band’s roadie, sometimes all you can do is go along with it. You don’t have to like it and should tell them so but at the end of the day, you can’t always stop them. And if it all comes crashing down around them one day, would you rather they come back to you or stay alone and lost in the big outside world?

The same goes for their sexuality. You may have a hankering for grandchildren but if they decide they want to be with someone of the same sex, be happy that they are happy. They can always adopt grandchildren for you to pamper. What they can’t do is be happy with someone who isn’t right for them.

 Laugh.

Enjoy every moment. Sing with them. Dance around the house with them. Who cares if the neighbours hear and think you’re crazy! You are crazy – for your child. Watch the shows they like (some of them are actually quite funny) Teach them that no one is perfect. Let them know that different is ok, that unique is wonderful.

And above all else: Tell Them You Love Them At Every Opportunity.

And if all else fails – Change your name to Good!

3 thoughts on “How To: Be A Good Parent

  1. Oh, I love what you’ve written here, it’s all so true. And yeah, parenting doesn’t come with a manual but if we love, laugh and learn to just relax a bit our kids usually turn out ok. At least in my experience. Wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

