Blog

What Makes You An Author?

By definition, an author is a writer of a book, poem or document.

According to Wikipedia there are three different types:

  • The Published Author. (One whose work has been independently accepted for publication by a reputable publisher.)
  • The Self-Published Author.
  • The Unpublished Author.
writer-605764_1920
ww.pixabay.com

Well, I’ve written three books and many documents, however, I do not yet class myself as an author. I think I am a writer. I’ve always felt that I’m not an author until I’m published.

In a couple of weeks, I will become a self-published author but I’m well aware there is still a stigma to this, and many published authors believe you are not as good as them because you didn’t follow the traditional route. So I find myself wondering. Are you actually an author if many believe you are not one?

woman-1733881_1920
http://www.pixabay.com

Common sense tells me I am, or will be, and I’m every bit as good as them. I simply chose to walk a different path. After all, I’ve put just as much work into my book as any published author.

I’ve written late into the night, typed until my fingers ached and agonised over my characters.

I’ve gone through beta readers, editors and proofreaders, just like a published author.

I’m now experiencing all the same fears and self-doubt I’m sure they do.

  • Will anyone buy my book?
  • Will they like it?
  • Will they leave a review?
  • What if they leave a bad review?

We all work just as hard to complete our work and all suffer the same anxieties yet a lot of us have different views on this subject, so I’m asking you…

At what point do you earn the title AUTHOR?

 

2 thoughts on “What Makes You An Author?

  1. First of all, congrats on getting your book out there! Being a self published author is still an accomplishment and involves a lot of work. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of indie authors and find I enjoy their work better than famous traditionally published ones at times. I say give yourself the title of Author. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the congratulations. Yes, being self published definitely requires a lot of work. I must admit, I never realised how much until I decided to take this publishing journey. I personally believe I have earned the title.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

