Blog

You Can’t Please Everyone. 


This title is a wise message that I keep telling myself today because today I recieved my first bad review. 
As I sit in the corner, rocking back and forth, and crying whilst mumbling to my self, I’m trying to remember to think positive. Concentrate on the thirteen good reviews I have and the mailing list which is growing daily. These people must like my writing. 

But still the bad review brings with it that little demon, who sits on my shoulder, telling me I’m not good enough. Saying my writing is rubbish, and telling me to give up,  already. 

Okay maybe im being a little melodramatic. It’s more like, sitting on the sofa and sulking wondering if this person actually read my whole book. 

They say my main character is annoying. I’ll accept that, I know she’s not everyone’s cup of tea. They say my book is boring and unoriginal. Fair enough,  there are a lots of alien romances out there. But they also say it is sci-fi erotica. Truthfully,  I think this reader is confused. My entire book, 34 chapters, approx 74,000 words has four short sex scenes… Four! Hardly what I would call erotica.  

As I sit here, resisting the urge to reply to the reader (don’t worry, I will resist, lol) I can’t help wondering what books they normally read to give mine that label. I can only assume they have lead a very sheltered life. How I wish I could respond, pointing them in the direction of real erotica. I have read some very good ones in my time and would love to educate this person. 

So now I have to move on, ignore the demon, and continue to write. You can’t please all of the people all of the time. That’s what they say isn’t it? 

So I’ll drag my self from my corner… Oh wait, I already admitted to being on the sofa. Okay, I’ll turn my laptop on and do some writing… Tomorrow… After I’ve consoled myself with a glass of wine and chocolate. 

Rant over!

Until next time, 

Gem. 

11 thoughts on “You Can’t Please Everyone. 

  1. I totally get the ‘What do you normally read’-thing! I had a reviewer call my book smut on parade after reading 3 pages claiming it was all sex. Um. There’s no sex in the book. At all. Grab a big glass of wine and move on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol exactly. I don’t mind admitting, I’ve read Erotica and actually enjoy some of it and I know that my book does not fall into that category. I think the reader must have stopped reading after the first sex scene… Which doesn’t actually appear until the end of chapter 8.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so true! You can’t please everyone so there is no point in trying. Your writing is a reflection of who you are and not everyone is going to like it. Plus, it’s a new challenge, being exposed to negative reviews, it means you must be getting somewhere as a writer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

