Blog

I’ll Do It My Way

book-1760998_1920As people who read my last post will know, I received my first bad review recently. This lead to a lot of self-doubt and questioning.

The review claimed my book was boring erotica. The boring bit I had no problem with. We are all entitled to our own opinion and I know not everyone will like my work. The issue I had was with my book being called erotica. I did not aim for my work to fall into that category and truthfully, do not believe it should.  I suddenly found myself worrying about my current work in progress. Is there too much sex in it? Will people say that is erotica too?

I began frantically leafing through the pages, counting the sex scenes and studying the content. Is it too descriptive? Are there too many? Do they sound repetitive?

The number of questions I have asked myself is endless.

Then I suddenly came to my senses. I realised I had wasted nearly a week worrying over something that I can’t really change. I know some would say “Of course you can change it… rewrite it!” but it’s not that simple.

I can only write the story my characters want me to write. If I try to mold it a different way my muse will desert me and I’ll find myself staring at a blank screen, or worse, a screen full of writing that I hate.

So where does that leave me?

It leaves me with no other option than to write the way I normally do. I’m sure some will not like my next book. Some won’t like the fact that it’s a gay romance when my first was straight. Some won’t like gay sex scenes, others just won’t like sex scenes full stop. To some, there will be too many, to others not enough and as I said in my last post, I can’t please everyone.

But you know what?

I’m going to stop worrying about pleasing people. I’m going to write my book the way my characters want me to write it.

I’m going to do it my way!

 

3 thoughts on “I’ll Do It My Way

Leave a Reply

