Blog

Creation

Well, we are two weeks into the new year and I can honestly say, so far, I have not broken any new year resolutions.

Granted, the reason I haven’t broken any could be that I didn’t make any, but I prefer not to dwell on minor details like that.

Seriously, though, every year I make a list in my head of things I will do, things I want to achieve, where I want to be this time next year, and every year I manage none of it. Not one thing! Alright, I have succeeded in becoming an author in the last year, but I’m pretty sure that wasn’t one of my resolutions, so it doesn’t count. As much as I hate to admit it, any resolutions I make this year will likely go down the same route as all previous ones.

I have a distinct lack of willpower. To be perfectly honest, the fact that I actually managed to complete three manuscripts and even publish one is a major achievement in its self. For someone who breaks a diet after two hours, sticking to something like that, and not giving up, is a huge feat.

However, despite my belief that I will not be able to stick to any new ones, like all previous years, I’m going to try. So, although it’s a bit late, here are my resolutions for 2017:

  1. Lose weight – This is one I try every year and every year I fail. Unfortunately this year I have a doctor breathing down my neck for health reasons so I need to make more of an effort to stick to it. Where before I have been a firm believer in weight watchers. (not that I ever reached my goal weight) This time, I’m using the Fitbit method. I started calorie counting before Christmas and amazingly over the holiday season, managed to lose nearly half a stone, now it just remains to be seen if I can stick to it.
  2. Publish my other two manuscripts – I know this may seem like an obvious, easy one, but it’s actually turning out harder than I expected. With no beta readers and a lack of funds, it’s not that easy to just knock out the next one in my series.
  3. Complete two unfinished works on my desktop – I currently have four unfinished manuscripts along with twelve ideas for new ones.
  4. Have more faith in myself – This one refers to 1, 2 and 3. I’m a constant self-doubter and I need to stop it. I need to change the way I think.

If you had asked me this time last year, where I would be now, I’d never have said I’d have a book out. But I have. I have a book that has received some great reviews.  A blog that many people actually enjoy reading (for some reason) and a whole load of new friends I feel privileged to know. I have achieved so much in one year, it gives me hope that anything is possible. Maybe I can lose the weight. Perhaps I will complete two more works. Who knows, maybe I’ll even become an Amazon best seller with the next.

It’s a new year. A fresh start. A Chance to try again, to put the past behind us and start over. We can be anything we want to be. This year I’m not going to concentrate one what I am. Instead, I’m going to think about what I want to become.

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard

I’m going to create myself this year.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

