Blog

Giving Authors Bad Names!

Yesterday I gave my first ever one star review.

Anyone who reads my blog regularly will know this is not something I do. I’m a big believer in looking for the positive and only providing constructive criticism. Unfortunately, yesterday I read a book that was such a disappointment that it made my blood boil.

As a self-published author, I am well aware of the opinions of some. We are not real authors, our work is substandard, we weren’t good enough to be snapped up by a publisher… the list goes on. When I first published a book I was determined that I would prove these people wrong. So, yesterday, when I read a book that confirmed all these things I was a tad upset. The annoying thing was that the book started out so well. It was well written and had the makings of a good story. I can only assume that the author got bored of writing it because when it abruptly cut off and skipped to an epilogue, I had to scan back to see if I’d missed something.

Well, unfortunately, I hadn’t. However, there was still a lot of the book left.

As I read on my kindle, I hadn’t seen the table of contents. It skipped straight to chapter one, so at this point I scrolled back to the beginning of the book. It turned out that the book I thought I’d bought was only one of forty short stories. Forty bad stories I might point out. Well, the ones I read were, I admit to not reading them all.

The thing that made this worse was that when I skipped to the end of the book I found it to be full of editing notes for each story. I can only assume that the author deliberately left them to increase the page count or didn’t check their work before publishing and forgot to remove them. How they could make that mistake I will never know.

Anyway, I found myself to be extremely disappointed by this and can honestly say that I didnt intend to leave a review at all, only one thing changed my mind….

Out of random curiosity I decided to look at what other books this author had on Amazon. It turned out that most of the short stories in the book had actually been published aswell and just like the first book they were advertised as one novel. Upon downloading another I found it was exactly the same as the first book. That story had simply been placed before the others.

I was in shock. As someone who prides myself on publishing well edited and polished books, I could not believe an author could do this. I can’t understand why someone would want to risk losing readers by producing such shoddy work.

Authors like that give the rest of us a bad name. I can totally understand why some people have the opinions they do about self-published authors.

So, this is why I gave my first one star review. I will not be putting the review on my blog as I usually do, nor will I be naming the author but I will be keeping an eye out for this in future and hoping that people don’t judge the many by the actions of a few.

Leave a Reply

